The Autism of Knowledge Management

Via a reference in the recent Macromedia white paper Challenges Impeding the Learning Object Economy comes this paper. One must give credit to the Macromedia paper for citing it, for it presents quite an invective against the objectified notion of learning that supports their notion of an LO economy.

I’m not sure I like the use of the metaphor of autism here, and hopefully that’s all it is here, accurate though it may seem on the surface to characterize the lego-like notion of learning and learning objects.  I think I prefer the less extreme explanations like those recently offered by Norm Friesen. Regardless, I think they are both mainly coming from similar places philosophically. But I think David Wiley is ultimately on the right track with this – we shouldn’t be turning this in to an either/or but try to find the middle ground. – SWL

The Autism of Knowledge Management