Iconex LOR

New to me, this object repository was developed in the U.K. by the University of Hull as part of the nation-wide Distributed National Electronic Resource initiative (I’m sure I have this wrong, but I have  a difficult time sorting out the players and funding envelopes in the U.K.)

Not certain the extent that this was intended for prime time yet. I could access it in IE but both Mozilla and Opera seemed to fail. The reason I checked is that the front end seemed to be done in Flash, but either  they are doing browser detection on these other browsers that is failing or else this isn’t Flash but maybe some IE specific technology. In any case, there are a number of good multimedia objects in there – the one that drew me here in the first place is a Flash-based card sorting exercise that is familiar to anyone who has ever had to facilitate a design session with a customer who won’t set priorities.

The app is very good, you can download it and change the cards by editing an XML file. If you do manage to access the site you can find it in the ‘Generic’ category. Which points out another flaw with this approach – the individual objects do not appear to be directly addressable. – SWL

Iconex LOR